Christmas Catch-Up

How was your holiday season? You may or may not know this about me, but I adore the Christmas/New Years time of year. I talk about it before Thanksgiving turkeys have even been basted and buy my (real!) Christmas tree the moment that it becomes socially acceptable (read: the morning after Thanksgiving)… I would buy it sooner if I could.

It starts early for me, but now that I am a (resistant) member of the ‘real world,’ I have less time to enjoy the small moments that symbolize the holiday season.  Thus, I really have to make the most of those things I can cherish.

I wanted to share with you a list of holiday items that made the end of 2010 sparkly and special – and so very tasty too!

  1. Home Décor

    Exhibit B: Very cute ornament display at a friend's house (I will be copying for next year!)

    Home Decorations, Exhibit A: Holiday Table-scape

  2. Dreamsicles (one part vodka, one part orange juice, one scoop vanilla ice-cream, and a dash of rose-water. Add ice, blend, and enjoy!)
  3. Christmas movies: Elf, Home Alone, Home Alone 2, It’s A Wonderful Life, Miracle on 34th Street (the original of course), Chevy Chase Christmas Vacation (oddly reminiscent of my own family…), The Family Stone, The Santa Clause (YES THE ONE WITH TIM ALLEN! I LIKE IT!)
  4. Holiday cards/letters from family & friends
  5. Candy Cane Lane
  6. Holiday Kalua (courtesy of a pretty girlfriend and wrapped up in such a cute Christmas container)
  7. Horse Drawn Carriage Rides through downtown Seattle
  8. 95.7 and 106.9 – all Christmas all the time
  9. Gingerbread houses
  10. Cookie Baking Day!

    Decorated Sugar Cookies

    Chocolate Mint Meltaways, Classic Sugar Cookies, & Peanut Butter Blossoms...mmm!

  11. Glee Christmas album (in particular, ‘Baby It’s Cold Outside’ as performed by Kurt and his man-crush, Blaine)
  12. Matching sister Christmas jammies
  13. Mariah Carey in general
  14. Wrapping presents beneath the light of the Christmas tree

    My Charlie Brown meets Whoville Christmas Tree

  15. Waking up at 7:45AM (!!) to open gifts. {12 year old sisters will do that to you}
  16. Let me see your jelly roll (Bisquick coffee-cake/jelly roll)
  17. Secret Santa(s)
  18. Vacation time!!!
  19. Shopping
  20. Santa Photos
  21. Candy treats
  22. Karaoke Klub
  23. Watching the Space Needle fireworks with friends on NYE
  24. Champagne (and toasts galore!)
  25. New Year’s Resolutions 🙂

I hope this is a wonderful beginning to a fresh, new year, full of opportunities and delights. Take a trip, make a new friend, do something that scares you, and (try to) be nice {or funny, or silly, or adventurous, etc. – insert desired quality here}. Happy happy 2011!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

